D.A.R.E.

D.A.R.E

D.A.R.E is not to just have fun and to get extra recess. D.A.R.E. has a meaning Drug Abuse Resistance Education. When I got in D.A.R.E I was so excited. D.A.R.E is fun. When you really learn the meaning of D.A.R.E it really teaches you good things. Just those four letters teaches you a lot.

Deputy Thomas has gotten everybody a D.A.R.E. shirt. If you wear it on the day you have D.A.R.E. then you will get extra recess. Deputy Thomas said the point of D.A.R.E is to show people I am in D.A.R.E I do not do drugs. You do not wear your T-Shirt just to get extra recess you wear it to prove that you are drug free.

You have a really good time in D.A.R.E.. Some things that you do in D.A.R.E is the DUI goggles. DUI goggles are goggles that make you see in a drunk persons view. You will have to put them on and walk a straight line. When you are done walking the line Deputy Thomas will throw you a ball and see if you catch it. I could not believe that when somebody is drunk and that is how their vision is they will still drive a car. There are a lot of fun things to do and if you really pay attention you will understand that all of this is to teach you that drugs and tobacco are bad for you and can kill you.

I think that D.A.R.E. is a really good program. It teaches kids that drugs don’t make you look cool, they make you look stupid because people know that they can kill you. It is good for Deputy Thomas to encourage kids not to do drugs. I think that Deputy Thomas has done a great job at that. Some kids have made the wrong decision in the past and people will probably make bad ones in the future too. Deputy Thomas has tried his best and he has done great.

My future goals that I have set for me is to get a good education. I will finish Jr. high and High school. Then I will go to college. I have not yet figured out what I want to go to college for but I will figure it out soon. I will be successful through my whole life and get a good job. I would like to have a family some day. I don’t believe that my future husband wants a wife that is addicted to drugs or tastes and smells like cigarettes. I need to keep my body healthy so I can have children and be a good mom.

I know that I will never do drugs. I know what they can do to me. Now I know a lot more about drugs because of  D.A.R.E.. It makes me sick that there are so many people out there that do drugs and use tobacco and they must not know what it really can do to them. I pledge that I will never do drugs or use tobacco through out my whole life. I will never do that because I don’t want to risk getting cancer or letting out second hand smoke that can also affect other people.

2 Comments »

  1. Hannah Hart. Said:

    You did such a great job on your essay! I really liked how you talked about your future. I really hope that you can read your essay on D.A.R.E graduation day!

  2. Zach Said:

    Kennedy that is a really good s.a and you were right about everything.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment